Green Options for the End

Green Burial CaissonSome might call me morbid for wanting to think about my funeral well before I’m gone, but I would disagree. I’m just a planner. Organizing those details in advance calms any anxiety I might have had about such a big unknown. I also want to make it as easy as possible for the people I’ll leave behind.

Death is really a part of the life process, even if our society tends to pretend that death is something to ignore until it gets here, and then pay a whole bunch of money to bury chemicals and a fancy box, getting through and over it as quickly and quietly as possible. A lonely process.

When I heard about green burial options and that there was a company in my community specializing in it, I was more than intrigued. It was actually a delight to interview Brian Flowers of Moles Farewell Tributes for my article at WhatcomTalk.com.

Knowing that there are other ways, other options, in-line with my environmental ideals has been a comfort, and made thinking about the end a whole lot less scary.

Leave a Reply

