High School Science Rules

I first discovered biology at the age of six in the farm drainage ditch that ran behind my lower Michigan home. That’s when and where I decided I would pursue science. High school science classes convinced me that I was on the right path and solidified my path through college. Although I don’t work in a lab or collect field data these days, environmental science is still a part of my daily life. I live, teach, and write about science as much as I can.

Science Olympiad Team LeadersIt was a joy to interview an intelligent, articulate, confident, resourceful bunch of Sehome High School students for my most recent article for WhatcomTalk.com about their participation in Science Olympiad. My old friend Mark Toney is their student adviser and my good friend Laural Ringler suggested I write about them. Whenever you can, support your local science experiences in any form. It makes a huge difference in their lives that echoes well beyond the event itself.

Leave a Reply

