Genetically Predisposed to be an Egg Donor?

New research says that “niceness” may be part of our genetic make up, that we are predisposed to be kind and generous because our DNA contains genes that control the function of oxytocin and vasopressin receptors, receptors for hormones that play a role in our maternal instincts, attitudes about civic duty, and responsibility to others.

I say we because this article makes me wonder if sperm and egg donors like me, and like those mentioned in the article that were more likely to be “giving blood, working for charity or going to PTA meetings,” were genetically predisposed toward donation. More than one chapter of my memoir addresses why I chose to become an egg donor, and for me, the underlying theme was generosity. I saw it as “one level up from” giving blood, with even greater impact in someone’s life.

Photo by Duncan on Flickr.

If I take my Wilde 🙂 speculation one level further, are children conceived from donor eggs and sperm statistically “nicer” because they got half their DNA from these generous people? And if so, are our populations slowly evolving toward kindness and generosity? Gosh, I hope so. I guess only time will tell.

4 responses to “Genetically Predisposed to be an Egg Donor?

  1. This is fascinating. Just yesterday I was thinking about a trend of “niceness” I’m seeing around me and wondered if it was a cultural phenomenon. Mostly I was curious if I was a part of the zeitgeist or somehow outside of it. Perhaps it’s evolution! Thanks for the thoughtful post and the link.

  2. Pingback: Is Kindness the Next Big Thing? « Kim Kircher

  3. So considering the rise in donor conceived children over the years.. should we then see a change in the world for the better? How nice would it be if the next generation was just full of nicer people?

Leave a Reply

