Gratitude

My family and I just returned from a trip to San Diego, which included a stop at Legoland (also known as 8-year-old boy heaven), the Reuben H. Fleet Science Center, and the lovely beaches of Carlsbad, CA. We got some exercise, synthesized some Vitamin D, and spent a lot of time in the hotel hot tub.

Trips like this remind me to be thankful. Thankful that we have jobs and our health so that we’re able to go on these trips, thankful for my giving, loving hubby and precocious kidlets, thankful for the comfy home I get to come home to. My son Tristan tugged on my sleeve in the airport on the way home saying, “Mom, I love you because you take me to Legoland and Birch Bay Water Slides, but I love my own bed too.”

While in Carlsbad, I also coerced my hubby to take a surfing lesson (Learn to Surf with Heather Pine) so I could experience it vicariously. He sliced it up, despite his numb toes and the 55 degree (F) air temperature. All he could say was, “Wow, that was more of a workout than I expected.”

I started a daily gratitude journal, and will soon help the boys start their own to remind us of all that we have. I also began reading When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chodron, who had these wise and very relevant words that felt just for me:

“Complete discipline means that at every opportunity, we’re willing to come back, just gently come back to the present moment….We’re willing to sit still, just be there, alone.”

When we were in San Diego I kept trying to pull myself into the present moment, not where we were headed next, not judging what we’d just finished, but where we were right there where we stood. Each time I came into the present moment, I found gratitude. I discovered a thankfulness for all the blessings in my life.

Now all I need to do is practice that some more right here at home. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.

4 responses to “Gratitude

  1. I know just what you mean. I’ve been working on that too. Yesterday it was raining. I had to drive ninety or more miles; from hither to thither and beyond, with mist flying everywhere. Even six foot visibility at times. And yet, as I sat, watching the magical water transform everything around me, I could feel it, that peace you are describing. Even with the white knuckled driving, still, it was a beautiful day. Nice post :-).

    • Thanks girlfriend! Yes, I think I finally understand what the now corny phrase “inner peace” is getting at. It’s ephemeral right now, but I’m going to work on making it stick around a little longer! BTW, I appreciate you too!

  2. Nearly every day for the last 12 years, I’ve written down what I’m grateful for. And on those days when I want to punch the world, it has been that gratitude journal that has refocused me and has helped me to remember the small but important things I have and that people have done on my behalf. Gratitude makes my life better and it makes me a better me. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Wow Syndy. Way to go on sticking with it. You inspire me! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

