Milestones

Last weekend I went away to a writer’s retreat put together quickly by the women in my weekly writing group. We stayed in a wonderful chalet in Snowline Resort, just past Glacier, WA. Even though the heated pool, hot tub, and jetted jacuzzi were calling to me, I was able to write obsessively for two days and nights. Four women shared the cost, meals, and talk on all things literary. It was delightful and I highly recommend it.

The icing on my cake was that during the retreat, I was able to complete the first draft of the remaining four chapters of my memoir. I brought mid-grade champagne (hat’s off to Brut) in anticipation and was able to bust it open as we made dinner on Saturday night.

My grin lasted all evening, and I was so giddy that I spent the rest of the night singing along (poorly) to my favorite music at the top of my lungs.

Many new writers start a book and never finish it, losing interest, getting distracted by life, or giving up for their own specific reasons. I never thought that I would be the give-up type. I’m way too stubborn and I’ve been able to channel my borderline obsessive compulsive tendencies in productive ways. But it was a splendid feeling to write my last sentence and realize that I’m happy with the direction. voice, and content of the manuscript. At the moment it needs more polish, and perhaps a few more readers, and those last four chapters are rough like sandpaper, but I’m happy to celebrate this milestone (repeatedly with many friends) and I look forward to the next: a final second draft that I should be able to complete before the end of August.

Have you reached a recent milestone that you’re proud of? How did it feel when you stood there, taking it in?

2 responses to “Milestones

  1. Lorraine, I laugh to think I never thought to look up your blog when I was still in the attic. I enjoyed seeing another side of you in your writing. Congratulations on finishing the first draft of your book! You certainly do have an extraordinary family 🙂

Leave a Reply

