Ithaca Child Drama

The good news is that I just found out my article, Weapon Worry, was published in the winter issue of Ithaca Child, a regional parenting publication based in New York. Yeh!

The weird news is that after I submitted the article to them, I never heard back from them (not unusual) and the article was published without my knowledge or payment. I would have never heard about it except that another writer that took a class with me let me know that the same thing happened to her and another writing friend in the same issue.

Today I contacted the editor, Jim Graney, and got a quick reply. He said that a check had already been sent to me, but was never cashed. I never gave them my mailing address because I didn’t know they were going to use my article. Mr. Graney’s message indicated that they’re behind in book-keeping because there were recent deaths in their family and that he will send out a new check right away.

So while I’m excited to find that one of my articles was published recently, I’m a little disturbed that I only found out about it by accident, 4 months later. It makes me wonder where else my articles have been published without my permission? Let’s hope this situation is just a fluke.

2 responses to “Ithaca Child Drama

  1. Hmmm. Very strange indeed. Maybe it’s just me, but I smell a rat. Let me know when you get that check. I recently realized I wasn’t paid for a published article. What’s going on around here?

  2. Kim! The teacher of a writing class I recently took said that this situation is not entirely unusual. Her take on it was that editors are just as imperfect as the rest of us. I aspire to be as generous and forgiving as she is! I hope you got a good response to your inquiry about payment for your article?

    The check arrived in the mail today. I’m so glad this was resolved. Let’s hope it was just a fluke!

Leave a Reply

