Blogged to Death

One of my writing buddies, Jen Schile (see her in my blogroll), just turned me on to Google Reader. I’ve never read any blogs on a regular basis because I felt it was too time consuming and I should be spending that time writing.

But Google Reader is actually helping me with this issue. It conveniently puts the blogs you’re interested in all in one place, and in a summary mode, so you can skim at them all in just a few minutes. Be aware that you can still waste tons of time with this if you don’t keep your goals in mind. Here are the ones I think about to keep me skimming and not getting sucked into reading something that’s interesting, but I can’t actually use:

Is it about memoir, personal essay, a book proposal, getting an agent, or publishing in magazines (my immediate goals)?

Is it a call for submissions?

Is it something that I can use on MY blog or to expand my platform?

Was this written by a friend or writing buddy?

If I can’t answer yes to at least one of these questions, I need to move on in less than 30 seconds. There are so many blog posts these days that if I dedicate more time than that, I’ll never accomplish anything beside being well read.

Now that I’ve said that, be sure to add my blog to your Google Reader. www.lorrainewilde.com. 🙂

Let me know if you know of a blog that will help me with the goals above.

Lorraine

Leave a Reply

