Giddy with Excitement

I’ve just returned from the Pacific Northwest Writers Association conference. What a wilde 🙂 ride. I met new inspiring writers (and now real friends), hob-knobbed with agents and editors, and soaked up insider industry information. My head is still spinning. I’m too excited to sleep. 

 

I pitched my book idea to twelve agents and editors, following some of them down the hall on their way to the bathroom.  I also read my pitch aloud over a microphone to about a hundred fellow writers in a workshop. I’m feeling like a success already for just accomplishing that much. Ten of them agreed to let me send them my proposal…so can you guess what I’m working on over the next few days?

Most of them wanted me to hurry up and finish my memoir, even though I’ve been told it’s not required to get an agent…but it can’t hurt.  

The two weeks before the conference were a little crazy. The girl’s parents were pulled in two directions and so I was the lucky girl that got to have them over for a whole week. It was a joy to have them all to myself for that long. It was the first time they’d stayed with me without their folks. The kids luxuriated in the time they had together. More than once they turned down an outside adventure so they could just stay home and play together. There was toe nail painting, elaborate Legoe cities, and marathon bed time stories.  

Just before they left, they made Mike tear up.  “Can we call you our half-dad? The boys are our half-brothers, right?”  It was a great joy to have them.  

As I was getting ready to leave for the conference on Thursday morning, my 6-year old son came out of his room, walking past the bathroom while I was styling my hair. When he saw me, he startled for a second and paused. A smile spread across his face, and grew wider as he spoke.   

“Mommy, you look so pretty!” he said, looking me up and down. Then he chuckled, “I hardly recognized you!” He proceeded to laugh himself silly for almost two minutes. Apparently, I need to work a little harder on my appearance around the house. 🙂  

I’ve met so many generous writers that I’ll be adding a page to my web site with links to fellow writer’s pages. If you’re a fellow writer and would like to see your link on my website, please let me know.  

My writing teacher, Christina Katz, introduced me to my new writing buddy right here in my own back yard (THANKS Christina!). Jen Schile writes about her life in a five-generation commercial fishing family. She’s been a longtime correspondent for National Fisherman magazine and has been published in Pacific Fishing. She has also published personal essays in several anthologies. I’m looking forward to learning from Jen’s experience and supporting her in whatever way I can.  

Over the course of the week I’ve determined that I need to get to know more published writers of memoir. Do you know any that you can introduce me to?  

In the meantime, I’ll be joining Whatcom Writers and Publishers and attending every Village Books memoir author reading I can. Please let me know if you’d like to join me at a reading or have other suggestions.  

The journey continues…  

Thanks for reading.  

Lorraine Wilde 

Leave a Reply

