Memoir!

My most recent feedback from lovely editor Brooke Warner of Seal Press suggested that I read some solid memoir so that I can narrow down what is missing from my writing. This weekend I went to Pt. Townsend, WA with my book club with my only mission being to relax, have fun, and figure out which memoir to read first. With a little help from my friends, and a wonderful little place I stubbled across called The Writers’ Workshoppe, here’s what I came up with (in no particular order).

Memoir I Already Read in my Book Club and Could Reread

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Dreams of My Father by Barack Obama

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs

The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortensen

Wild Swans: the Three Daughters of China by Jung Chang

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

On the Road by Jack Karouac

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

 

High Quality Memoir That I Can Read When I’m Not Worried About Being Too Depressed

Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion

Dry by Augusten Burroughs

Fun Home: a Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

 

The Five I Proposed to My Book Club (they’ll choose one but I’ll start here and read them all)

Holidays on Ice: Stories by David Sedaris

A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering American on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson

The Curve of Time by M. Wylie Blanchet

An American Childhood by Annie Dillard

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

 

A Few More That Made My Wishlist

Fierce Attachments by Vivian Gornick

A Year by the Sea and An Unfinished Marriage by Joan Anderson

The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing

A Girl Named Zippy: Growing up Small in Mooreland, Indiana by Haven Kimmel

 

Whew. I better get reading. Comment if you have a suggestion I didn’t mention here.

Lorraine

Leave a Reply

