Kindergarten and New Beginnings

I’ve been delinquent in my posting because we were getting ready for kindergarten, getting in those last vacations before school starts, and spending every available second on the book proposal.

I dropped them off at kindergarten today, was told gently by the teacher to go ;), and then went for a run. I’m a little sad and already miss them, but am also elated at the potential freedom. I know several other moms with kids in this class, they all have younger children at home, their oldest entering Kindergarten with my boys. I could tell they were happy for my freedom, they cheered for me as I ran away, each with an infant on their hip. I’ve finally found a true advantage to having twins: two in school at once!

I’m writing this blog before my shower and the walk back to pick them up. Its only 2 1/2 hours for goodness sake! They went for longer than that to preschool! Then we’re headed off to Birch Bay for our final camping trip of the season. When we took the sailboat to Sucia Island last month, I spent 6 hours in the tent working on the book proposal. Mike even rigged a battery with a plug converter so that I could use the laptop on an island without electricity! Talk about supportive.

It has taken me longer than I expected to get the proposal out, I’d hoped to have it out more than a week ago. But I think the wait has been worth it. I got pages back from my editor, Angela, yesterday with only a few edits. I definitely feel like I’m on the right track and will get a good response when I get it sent out next week, thanks to the (indirectly) free kindergarten babysitting service.

If you don’t already know about it, I’m entering a daily drawing for a free book by commenting daily at the Writer Mama Riffs blog. Its a great way to ensure you write at least a few words every day, and the odds of winning a book are better than about 1 in 75! It continues throughout September so check it out.

Please keep checking back and feel free to comment!!!

Love,

Lorraine

Leave a Reply

